Luke Reviews


The Post-Hiatus Rating System

Posted by Luke Forney on December 22, 2009 at 4:40 PM

Now that Luke Reviews is preparing to return, it seemed like the perfect time to introduce the new rating system. The books reviewed before this mark will retain their number, but the new system will be a bit stricter. I wanted to announce the change, so the new books didn’t seem to pale in comparison to the previous ones. Here is a breakdown of what the numbers (out of ten) roughly mean:


10: One of the best books of the year. A must read. Worth reading again.


9: An excellent book. One that I would pick up again, but is missing that “x-factor” to make it a full 10.


8: A lot of fun to read, and recommended.


7: A good book.


6: Above average, but not by much.


5: An average book.


4: Below average, but not by much.


3: A sub-par book. Deeply disappointing.


2: Got halfway but couldn’t finish.


1: Couldn’t get halfway.


I hope that this will give a little more explanation behind the numbers, and will stop the strings of 8/10 that seemed to continue to crop up. This will give a more honest, more complete spread than before.


Welcome to the return of Luke Reviews!

Categories: None

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In